One Step Beyond the Craft

You may not realise that Freemasonry is made of a number of different 'Progressive Orders'. This series will explain these various Orders and how they are linked.
The Operatives
The full title of this Order is the Worshipful Society of Free Masons, Rough Masons, Walkers, Slaters, Paviours, Plaisterer’s and Bricklayers, in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the Commonwealth, and Territories Overseas. It is often familiarly known as the ‘The Worshipful Society of Freemasons’. 
Operative or Guild Masons were organized in England with royal approval dating at least from as early as the Grand Assemblage of 926 in York, which is reputed to have been authorized and encouraged by King Athelstan. The constitutions of the Society state that the Order was founded in 1913. The ritual of The Operatives as they are familiarly called, is more archaic in form and much fuller than that of the ‘speculatives’, containing practical instruction of which only echoes are found in speculative ritual, thereby providing an interesting field of study for the serious Masonic student. 
Lodge meetings are held in Assemblages.
The degrees of the Society are seven in number. 
The regalia is minimal and consists of a blue cord or blue collarette from which is suspended the badge of the member’s grade.
Badges are simply exchanged as progression is made. All members wear the distinctive Society tie.
Qualification for joining is that a candidate must be a Master Mason, a Mark Master Mason, and a Royal Arch Mason.
Find out more here:
Next week we will introduce you to The Red Cross of Constantine.

If you would like to be part of a global community, that has its roots firmly in the ground in Buckinghamshire, please join us by following this link:
After filling in the short form, our Membership Team will be in touch. 
Aprons Off: The Real Freemason
Special Interest Lodges in Bucks

Related Posts