Our Consecration in 1975

The Manor of Swanburn Lodge No 8647 was formed in 1975 - read about our founders and consecration.

The Manor of Swanburn Lodge No 8647 was formed in 1975 by members from various local Masonic Lodges who attended the weekly Manor Class of Masonic Instruction.  The Consecration took place at the Masonic Hall, High Street, Fenny Stratford.  The Manor Class of Masonic Instruction met weekly at the Swanbourne College (now Horwood House) and later at the Manor Hostel in Great Brickhill.  The Founder Members chose the name Manor of Swanburn from the Manor hostel and Swanburn being the ancient name for the village of Swanbourne.


The Banner was dedicated on the 28th January 1977 at the Bletchley Masonic Centre Queensway.  The Manor of Swanburn Banner & Badge was designed to represent the Swan being the emblem of the county of Buckinghamshire and the Greek Sigma sign representing the letter S for swanburn


The Banner used today is the Original and was made by Mrs Reg Aldridge and The Volume of the Sacred Law is still placed on a cushion made by Mrs Frank Cheney.


Manor of Swanburn Lodge No 8647


Consecrated 3.6.1975

Masonic Hall, High Street,

Fenny Stratford, Bletchley at 4.00pm.


Consecrating Officers:


R.W.Bro. Sir Ralph Verney BT KBE, DL

Provincial Grand Master

Assisted By: R.W.Bro. Lt. Col. The Rt. Hon. Lord Burnham, PJGW, PPGW

Deputy Provincial Grand Master

W.Bro. His Honour Judge LJ Verney, PJGD, PPGW

AssistantProvincial GrandMaster



W.Bro. R WSellick, PAGDC, PPGW                                    as      Senior Warden

W.Bro. R K C Holton, Prov.Dep.GDC                                as      Junior Warden

W.Bro. Rev. J FCheyne, BEM,L.Th, Prov.A.G.Chap           as      Chaplain

W.Bro. Stanley ACayzer, PAGDC, PPGW, Prov.G.Sec       as      Secretary

W.Bro. E JDeung, PAGDC, PPGW, Prov.GDC                     as       Director of Ceremonies

W.Bro. L HCowley, JP,PPGW                                             as      Inner Guard


Founders of the Manor ofSwanburn Lodge No 8647


W.Bro F. Cheney                                                                      WM

W.Bro R. Aldridge                                                                    Act.IPM

W.Bro A.G. Irons                                                                      SW

W.Bro H.D.Wilmot                                                                    JW

Bro G.J. Brown                                                                         Tres

W .Bro K..J. Fuller                                                                     Sec

W.Bro T. Holderness                                                               DC

W.Bro D. Hitchings                                                                  SD

Bro A.W Rose                                                                           JD

W.Bro J.W.E. Bedford                                                               ADC

Bro D. Worth                                                                            Asst. Sec

Bro R. Taylor                                                                            IG

Bro D. Goodman                                                                      Stwd

Bro S. Wallace                                                                          Stwd

W.Bro B. Blane                                                                         Stwd

Bro R. Bluck                                                                             Tyler


Dedication of the Lodge Banner - 28thJanuary 1977

Banner Dedicated by WBro.RecCanonJ.f.CheyneBEM - Provincial GrandChaplin

iteBanner Bearer - W.Bro R.Aldridge